Mount Tai

( Updated: 2022-05-19


The peak of Mount Tai [Photo/VCG]

Mount Tai, located in the middle of Shandong province and spanning three cities (Tai'an, Jinan and Zibo), covers a total area of 24,200 hectares. Known as the eastern mountain among the Five Great Mountains of China, Mount Tai was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1987, and honored as a "World Geopark" in 2006. In China, Mount Tai was among the first group of National Parks of China, is a 5A-class tourist attraction, and is on the top 10 list of national civilized spots in China.

Mount Tai is well known for its spectacular natural scenery, including craggy cliffs, deep canyons, grotesque peaks with strange rocks, luxuriant vegetation, flowing springs and twittering birds. The mountain also has marvelous unique wonders: the rising sun at dawn, the jade plate of the sea of clouds, and rosy clouds at sunset.

Since ancient times, Mount Tai has been a sacred place for emperors from all dynasties to hold worship ceremonies and offer sacrifices to Heaven. Enshrined by such worship ceremonies, it also attracted believers of both Confucianism and Taoism, men of letters and famous people whose residence and visits left more than 1,000 places of interest behind, such as inscription rocks of the Diamond Sutra. It also became a holy mountain for worship for Chinese people, and is a symbol of the Chinese spirit.

Because of the unique integration of human civilization and natural landscape, Mount Tai has been revered by Chinese people for thousands of years and has become renowned all over the world for its beauty.

Scenic Spot Level: AAAAA

Ideal Sightseeing Season: February to November

Red Gate route: No 111 Hongmen Road, Taishan district, Tai'an, Shandong
Tianwaicun route: Tiandi Square No 79 Longtan Road, Taishan district, Tai'an, Shandong
Taohua Valley route: No 54 Hongmen Road, Taishan district, Tai'an, Shandong